Lena Scherer

Master's degree candidate

Lena joined FMC Data Solutions in May 2020 and is currently writing her master thesis. While studying Industrial Engineering and Management at the KIT in Karlsruhe, she discovered her interest in medical technology. She focused on Medical and Micro System Technology. Especially the use of new sensor technologies and wearables that enable patients to live an autonomous life despite their disease fascinated her.

Because of that, Lena in the new potential of technology in MedTech, sensor systems and wearables during her Master studies. Through an additional focus on Digital Health, she got to know the possibilities of using Data Science in point of care diagnostics.

During her work as research assistant in a Digital-MedTech-Startup she gathered first practical experience at the intersection of hardware and Data Science in healthcare, which has since then been her focus of interest. Therefore, she decided to write her master thesis at FMC Data Solutions about the application of sensor and image analysis to improve the quality of life and treatment outcome for kidney patients.

Lena Scherer

Education

MSc + BSc Industrial Engineering and Management

Focus

MedTech, Digital Health, Wearables and sensor systems

Projects

Master Thesis, Patient-App

Contact

Phone

Lena Scherer

Masterandin

Lena ist seit Mai 2020 ein Teil von FMC Data Solutions und schreibt dort ihre Masterarbeit. Während ihres Bachelors in Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen am KIT in Karlsruhe entdeckte sie ihr Interesse für Medizintechnik. Sie vertiefte sich in den Bereichen Medizin- und Mikrosystemtechnik. Vor allem der Einsatz neuer Technologien wie neue Sensoren und Wearables, der Patient*Innen ermöglicht, ein autonomes Leben trotz chronischer Erkrankungen zu führen, faszinierte sie.

In ihrem darauffolgenden Master spezialisierte Sie sich deswegen auf neue Technologiemöglichkeiten in der Medizintechnik, Sensorsysteme und Wearables. Durch einen zusätzlichen Schwerpunkt im Bereich Digital Health lernte sie außerdem die Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten kennen, die Data Science im Bereich Point of Care Diagnostik bietet.

Während Ihrer Arbeit als Forschungsassistentin arbeitete Sie in einem Digital-Medtech-Start-Up und sammelte dort erste praktische Erfahrungen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Hardware und Data Science im Gesundheitswesen. Genau diese Schnittstelle begeisterte sie. Ihre Masterarbeit schreibt sie deswegen bei FMC Data Solutions über den Einsatz neuer Sensor- und Bildverarbeitungstechnologien, um die Lebensqualität und Behandlungsergebnisse von Dialysepatienten zu verbessern.

Lena Scherer

Ausbildung

MSc + BSc Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen

Schwerpunkt

Medizintechnik und Wearables, Digital Health

Projekte

Masterarbeit, Patienten-App

Kontakt

Tel.